About us

Biofacts are hybrid objects that, like the cloned sheep and the genetically modified tomato, undermine the traditional distinction between inanimate technology and living nature and thereby cause social conflicts again and again. The current discussions on the application of genetic engineering in the agricultural and food sector are a significant example.

The objective of the research association The Language of Biofacts is to develop, through the example of high-tech plants, a theoretically and empirically sound framework for the analysis and comprehension of biofacts as socio-technical objects in modern societies. In doing so we contribute to a deeper reflection on biofacts as well as a better comprehension of current conflicts in the agricultural and food sector.

As an interdisciplinary alliance of scientists (> people) from history, philosophy, sociology and industrial design, the research association comprises six sub-projects. The scientists are based at the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich, the Technical University Braunschweig and the Technical University Munich. The coordination of the research association is situated at the Technical University Munich.

The sub-projects are supported by a varying body of experts including Dr. habil. Werner L. Kutsch (>ICOS RI), Helsinki; Dr. Martha Mertens, Munich; Dr. Helga Satzinger, London; Dipl. Volksw. Maren Schüpphaus (>ScienceDialogue & >dialogimpulse), Munich, and Prof. Dr. Bettina Wahrig Braunschweig ( >Abt. Wissenschafts- und Pharmaziegeschichte, Technische Universität Braunschweig )as permanent members. The research association receives additional support from its two practice partners the >German Museum and the >KWS SAAT SE.

The research association The Language of Biofacts is promoted by the >Federal Ministry of Education and Research in the context of its initiative >The Language of Objects from the period of 3/2015 until 8/2017. The association is supervised by the >project sponsor in the German Centre for Aviation and Space Travel.

Über uns

Biofakte sind hybride Objekte, die wie Klon-Schaf und Gen-Tomate die traditionelle Unterscheidung von unbelebter Technik und lebender Natur unterlaufen und damit immer wieder gesellschaftliche Konflikte auslösen. Die aktuellen Auseinandersetzungen um den Einsatz von Gentechnik im Agrar- und Ernährungssektor sind ein markantes Beispiel.

Ziel des Forschungsverbundes Die Sprache der Biofakte ist es, am Beispiel hochtechnologisch kultivierter Pflanzen ein theoretisches und empirisches Gerüst für die Analyse und das Verständnis von Biofakten als sozio-technischen Objekten in modernen Gesellschaften zu erarbeiten. Damit soll sowohl eine vertiefte Reflexion auf Biofakte als auch ein besseres Verständnis aktueller Konflikte auf dem Agrar- und Ernährungssektor erreicht werden.

Als interdisziplinärer Zusammenschluss von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern (>Personen) aus Geschichte, Philosophie, Soziologie und dem Industrial Design umfasst der Forschungsverbund sechs >Teilprojekte. Sie sind an der >Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, der >Technischen Universität Braunschweig und der >Technischen Universität München angesiedelt. Die Koordination des Forschungsverbundes liegt bei der Technischen Universität München.

Unterstützt werden die Teilprojekte bei ihrer Arbeit von einem variablen Expertenkreis, dem als ständige Mitglieder Dr. habil. Werner L. Kutsch (>ICOS RI), Dipl. Volksw. Maren Schüpphaus (>ScienceDialogue & >dialogimpulse) und Prof. Dr. Bettina Wahrig (>Abt. Wissenschafts- und Pharmaziegeschichte, Technische Universität Braunschweig) angehören. Weitere Unterstützung findet der Forschungsverbund durch seine beiden Praxispartner, das >Deutsche Museum und die >KWS SAAT SE.

Der Forschungsverbund Die Sprache der Biofakte wird vom >Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen seiner Initiative >Sprache der Objekte für die Laufzeit 3/2015 bis 8/2017 gefördert. Betreut wird der Verbund vom >Projektträger im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (PT-DLR).